Ninja Cal: Hug your children

Dear #LoveLansing,

When I read the news out of Connecticut, my heart broke at my desk and I cried.

I am sure I was not alone.

I think we can all agree that children are meant to be loved, protected and nurtured into a full life. Hearing that the most innocent members of our society were hurt violently struck a vulnerable chord in all of us. It made us think of our schools, our families, our children and we were scared.

I was scared.

As I watched the banter and commentary unfold online, I could not comment on the devastating tragedy that would leave mommies and daddies without their precious babies. I worried for the children who would grow up with PTSD. I wondered how any of them would ever sleep, eat or attend school again.

It seems like a ninja should be able to do something other than sit at a desk and cry all afternoon.

Saturday morning, I took some gift cards for admission to Impression 5 Science Center and left them at a McDonald’s Playland.

I did not give them freely.

The envelope had instructions:

  1. Call over your child(ren)
  2. Look them in the eye
  3. Tell them you love them
  4. Enjoy this gift together

We may not all have children. We may not all be parents.

But we are all capable of loving and encouraging the families in our #LoveLansing community. We can all work hard to be the kind of home where they feel safe. Although we cannot always prevent bad things from happening, we can all assure them that in their time of need, we will be there for them.

The Lansing Ninjas send their prayers, light, hope and love to the community of Newtown, Conn. We are so very sorry for your incredible loss and honor all of the men and women who bravely fought to protect the innocent.

With all my heart,

Ninja Cal

P.S. It’s rare that a mission is executed and we hear from the “finder” before we can even get the blog posted. But that happened this weekend. And we love the story we got back. Here it is, from Julie, the “finder”:

“Are these your BOYS???” my husband was asked at McDonald’s today by a man. So he’s thinking, “What did they do now?!”

The man hands my husband an envelope with a gift card to Impression 5 inside.
What a wonderful gesture by the Lansing Ninjas. They are performing good deeds throughout the city of Lansing.

My faith in humanity was just restored a little bit today 🙂

About Lansing Ninjas

We #lovelansing and we hope you do, too. Our mission is to spread bits of love and kindness around our city. We hope it brightens someone's day and inspires them to pay it forward. Kindness rocks!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ninja Cal: Hug your children

  1. Dawn says:

    What a beautiful ninja mission this is! I am going to remember it! I, too, was heartbroken at the news. Sick to my stomach, crying. I couldn’t think of what to do to help that town. I ended up calling a pizzeria in Newtown & asking them to charge my credit card & buy dinner for a family in town. The woman I spoke to said they were saving all donations until next week (which is this week) so that when funerals are happening & out of towners come in, when folks call to order, they can tell them, “it’s been paid for by a stranger”. I was so happy to hear many had also called to donate. I felt helpless & this one one simple thinking I could do.

  2. Oh, Dawn, that’s so wonderful! Thank you for sharing that. Thank you for adding some much-needed light to the world.

Leave a Reply

