Mass newbie ninja missions in #lovelansing

The Original Ninjaz are thrilled to have deputized a new band of do-gooders. THRILLED, we tell you! They’ve even taken to tagging themselves with creative names. Take a look what these new recruits accomplished over the holiday weekend in #lovelansing:

Sgt. Major Ninja Officer:

So I completed my first official Lansing Ninja mission.

As I was sitting in my nice warm house debating whether to turn up the heat or not, I starting thinking about how not everyone has the ability to make that decision.

So I put together 11 gift bags as my first ninja mission.

The bags contained:

  • Hat
  • Gloves
  • A pair of socks
  • Chapstick
  • Hand lotion
  • Hand sanitizer
  • Wet wipes
  • Kleenex

And two bags had throw blankets instead of hats or gloves. The notes said, “Stay Warm. Love, Lansing Ninjas”

I left these at random bus stops around Lansing.

I hope they help someone who might be cold and not have the option of turning their heat up whenever they want.

 Ninja Funky Fresh:

I completed my first mission on Thanksgiving Eve, in hopes of giving strangers something to be thankful for prior to the holiday, as well as leaving a note to remind them that with or without ninja love, there is plenty to be thankful for all year round.

I chose Old Town because it is, hands down, my favorite part of Lansing. I love the creative vibe you get walking through the art district, visiting the antique stores, unique boutiques and passing through all the creative agencies. I decided to go with Cravings Popcorn gift cards due to the fact that while many of us get wrapped up on the holiday consumerism, it is important to remember to buy and support our local businesses in #lovelansing! Besides, who does not love Cravings Popcorn and sodas, right?!

The notes left with the treats hopefully evoked inspiration and gratitude in the lucky strangers who stumbled upon the ninja gifts!

General Mayhem:

General Mayhem reporting for duty! Missions for this weekend:

  • A free 16-oz Dunkin Donuts coffee card left on some random vehicle
  • Taking some of my kid’s toys and wrapping them as gifts, leaving them in areas like the bus stop, library, other places where little kids will be
  • Leaving a copy of leaving a spare copy of “World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War” on someone’s car. That last one is a bit selfish, I really just want all the people around me to be prepared and level headed when the zombies try to take over.

 Ninja #4:

So I just came back from Jo-Ann Fabrics, and did a different mission while I was there. The Christmas pick aisle was JACKED so bad that the manager apologized and said that people “shopped really hard today.”

A woman working asked if she could take her lunch break, and the manager told her she could after sweeping out front and cleaning that aisle. She had a long sigh and walked away. So I took a few minutes, straightened the aisle and picked everything up off the floor. When she came back she looked really confused — and then thrilled. I think she assumed a coworker did it. It made me think of how hard this season is on the employees at Meijer, Jo-Ann’s, Macy’s (and everywhere else that has crazy customers and crazy hours) this season.

Olive Moon Shinobi:

I did my first official ninja-ing at lunch last week. I left a note on someone’s car in the parking lot of Sushi Moto. I am tempted to leave notes on every car at the mall.

About Lansing Ninjas

We #lovelansing and we hope you do, too. Our mission is to spread bits of love and kindness around our city. We hope it brightens someone's day and inspires them to pay it forward. Kindness rocks!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

