Making mincemeat of multitasking

Image

So do you ever feel like you’re trying to do 30 important things and doing none of them well? The whole “robbing Peter to pay Paul” thing really applies to your accomplishments too.  For me, I see something wonderful that I want to help out with, and then 10 other wonderful things/people that need help arise, and then an emergency situation that needs help pops up out of left field, and so on. So I multitask the heck out of the situation (still crazily thinking that I can do it all) and I’m left with a big old pile of letting people down because no one can successfully accomplish all that I have misguidedly added to my plate, and actually do it well.

Enter reality check.

My daily calendar had this to say today: “Be fully present in whatever activity you are doing in the moment. Resist the temptation to do multiple things at the same time. It’s actually a waste of your time! The truth is that you get more done in the long run by doing one thing at a time with your full and undivided concentration. Bottom line? Work smarter not harder. You will accomplish more, make fewer mistakes and do it all in a shorter amount of time.”

So I’m trying to embrace this idea.  Sometimes you can only help one person/situation at a time-and that’s ok. Persons/situations 2-40 will understand. And the second you finish your task, there will certainly be someone else that could use a hand.  So this week I’m trying to help smarter, and not harder. If you need me, just give me a minute to finish what I’m doing, and then I’m all yours 100%! And if you’re a multitasking yahoo like me, try picking just one at a time today and see how it works out:)

About Lansing Ninjas

We #lovelansing and we hope you do, too. Our mission is to spread bits of love and kindness around our city. We hope it brightens someone's day and inspires them to pay it forward. Kindness rocks!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

