A new tire for Rose; or why we #lovelansing so much

We know people are awesome. But every now and then, we get a glimpse of just how awesome they can be — and how quickly nice things can happen to good people.

Rose Cooper performing at TEDx Lansing 2011. Photo by Ariniko Artistry

Meet Rose Cooper. Rose is a poet, a singer, a wife, a Korean-language student and Harley rider. Sometimes all of those things at once. Even if you have never met Rose, you might have passed her on the streets of Lansing, riding her motorcycle, earbuds firmly in place, singing joyously at the top of her lungs.

She’s that awesome.

Earlier this week, Rose posted this on Facebook:

I suppose the upside of waking up to discover that your motorcycle’s rear tire is flat, is discovering this at home, not in the parking lot at work. And since I have no money to fix this now or in the foreseeable future, my riding season is over before it started. #inconsolable

Rather than let this scroll by with a shoulder droop and a “that’s too bad” fleeting thought, Will Metz sprung into action. He started a private Facebook group called “A New Tire for Rose” and began inviting people. Many people knew Rose, but a good number did not. Rose is known as the awesome “Star-Spangled Banner” singer at Lansing Derby Vixens’ bouts, so many Vixens and derby-goers who’d never personally met Rose were included in the group as well.

And, to quote Andrew Lloyd Webber’s “Evita,” the money kept rolling in from every side.

In less than two days, enough money was gathered to buy Rose that new tire. And then she was invited into the Facebook group. She posted this:

Y’all went and made me cry again.

I am profoundly moved, deeply humbled, and forever grateful for this. Even just scrolling through the member list … wow. Words just aren’t enough. 

There are people here who I don’t even know that I know. I’ll change that, though. And you each have taught me to never, EVER, take your talents and gifts for granted. I have sometimes been [surreptitious] about singing out on my bike. No more.

From the bottom of my heart, and from the top of my lungs, I appreciate you all so, so damn much. Thank you for your kindness. I’ll sing a special song for you as soon as my bike gets rolling again.

Ride on, Rose! And thank you, awesome people of #lovelansing, for making us smile really big this week. We were honored to be a small part of this big tire of love.

About Lansing Ninjas

We #lovelansing and we hope you do, too. Our mission is to spread bits of love and kindness around our city. We hope it brightens someone's day and inspires them to pay it forward. Kindness rocks!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A new tire for Rose; or why we #lovelansing so much

  1. Don’t forget! Rose is a volunteer for the Nyaka AIDS Orphans Project too! We love you Rose! #lovelansing 🙂

  2. Ariniko says:

    You gone and made me cry too!

  3. Gabrielle Johnson says:

    This is the best thing I have ever read on this blog. Lovely.

  4. Emily says:

    I don’t know how we got so lucky to have such incredible people in this community. Y’all are amazing. I only hope other cities in Michigan have such great people living in their homes, walking their streets and working at their businesses.

  5. Pingback: Thursday Thought: Don’t let the turkeys get you down | Lansing Ninjas

  6. MSU lady says:

    Oh my goodness, just watched Rose Cooper’s graduation speech…I cried all the way through. She is so inspirationational! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rZ-r0MyHyeM

Leave a Reply

