Guest ninja: Sub love

Tim Nester, our most dedicated guest ninja is back for another mission!

Tim is a big supporter of local businesses and is quick to crow about the ones he really loves. Anyone who follows him on Twitter knows he really loves Jersey Giant. We’ll let him share the story of his latest mission:

A Mission of Mercy, Ninja-style.

It’s been a while since my last mission and I was feeling the need to grab some good karma and spread the word of #lovelansing, so I felt the need to do something that would benefit not just one, but two people … in one mission! Ambitious, sure, but I had a plan … a GENIUS plan!

First off, I had been traveling a little on West Saginaw towards Delta Township recently and had experienced the headache that is road construction. While I realize this project is long overdue, it was still an inconvenience to me. Then I got to thinking, “What about the businesses along this stretch? They’ve got to be hurting now that traffic has dropped off.” An epiphany! What if I could grab a gift card from one of these merchants, and deliver it (with all stealth) to a potential customer downtown? It would brighten up both parties’ days! Genius, I say!

I selected my favorite sub-shop in all the known world, Jersey Giant on the corner of West Saginaw and Waverly and proceeded inside to prime the engine of commerce. I purchased a $10 gift card figuring that it would be enough to get someone a Jersey Giant (#7 my favorite, btw), some chips and a drink. A true #lovelansing sort of lunch!

The workers behind the counter knew nothing of my “ninja” motives, they just smiled and completed the transaction. (Unknowing accomplices … an indication that my ninja skills are getting better.)

I had a couple of appointments downtown so I figured I would gift someone on Washington Avenue with the gift of great taste from a family-owned and operated business, with a little gentle nudge that they should patronize the Waverly location and support some businesses that are trying to make a go of it through the construction that is cutting off traffic.

I wrote a quick note, selected a green bendy-ninja to accompany the gift card, snapped a few before photos and started selecting my target. As always, I’m a sucker for a GM vehicle so I affixed the card and bendy-ninja, snapped a photo of delivery, and away I went … with nothing left behind but the sound of a gentle breeze.

Once again, it was a big-time kick and it was a chance to do a little good for someone in our fair city, as well as helping out a local business doing good things in the community. Hopefully others take this mission as inspiration and not only help out somebody today, but also look to local businesses with construction out front and make the extra effort to support them when they need it.

Ninja on! Stay tuned for more updates as I look to get back on a roll.

You ninja on, Tim! We love your enthusiasm, your local-local missions and your awesome bendy ninjas!

About Lansing Ninjas

We #lovelansing and we hope you do, too. Our mission is to spread bits of love and kindness around our city. We hope it brightens someone's day and inspires them to pay it forward. Kindness rocks!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

