Guest ninja: Stuck in Orlando

Here’s the first in our TEDx Lansing guest ninja contest entries. Remember, you have until 9 a.m. on Friday, May 6, to send us your guest ninja mission story and photos (email lansingninjas[at]gmail.com). We’ll randomly choose four winners who will get to experience the amazing awesomeness that is TEDxLansing for free!

Thanks, Amanda Whitehead, for taking a bad experience for yourself and turning it into a day-brightener for someone else. That’s so ninja.

So Thursday I was stuck at Orlando International with my flight on a delay that would make me miss my connection in Detroit to Lansing.

Having experienced a similar situation on my way to Orlando earlier in the week, I was less than thrilled about the inconvenience. I posted a little Facebook status update and the ninjas suggested I perform a random covert mission of kindness. Since I had time to kill, this sounded like a great idea.

I went to the airport Starbucks and asked if they sold gift cards. Sadly, they did not. I had to find something else. The terminal was teeming with people due to multiple flights on delay. I ducked into a little newsstand-like shop and noticed a bunch of puzzle books. If I’m struggling to fill my extra time with something other than frustration, maybe someone else was too!

I picked up a Sudoku magazine, wrote a note on blank receipt paper, and watched for an opportunity to place it on a seat without being noticed.

The whole mission took less than a half hour to brainstorm and accomplish. Even though things were too hectic for me to see who ended up picking up the book of puzzles, it made me feel good knowing that somebody’s day was a bit brighter. Certainly did turn my mood from slightly soured back to cheery!
Great job, Amanda! Who’s got the next mission?
About Lansing Ninjas

We #lovelansing and we hope you do, too. Our mission is to spread bits of love and kindness around our city. We hope it brightens someone's day and inspires them to pay it forward. Kindness rocks!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Guest ninja: Stuck in Orlando

  1. Pingback: TEDx Lansing guest ninja winner! | Lansingninjas's Blog

Leave a Reply

