Ninja #1: A sweet deal

The Ninjas signed up for Groupon!

The Ninjas were excited as anyone when Groupon finally put down roots in #lovelansing. Who doesn’t love a good deal, right? And the fact that it’s been showcasing some awesome local businesses doesn’t hurt, either.

When today’s Groupon went live, it was clear it had to be a part of a ninja mission. One of our favorite bakeries, The Sugar Shack, was offering four extra-large cupcakes for the bargain price of $6 (normally they’d run you $14). So we signed up for Groupon and made our first buy.

But where to leave the gift?

I drove around my assigned west quadrant of the city kind of aimlessly at first, looking for inspiration. I will admit the thought of doing this drop in the parking lot of a medical marijuana shop briefly crossed my mind, but it somehow didn’t feel right.

And then I saw it.

Pierre’s Bridal & Prom Salon on West Saginaw Street has ALWAYS looked like a giant cupcake in building form — well, at least to me — so I pulled in. I mean, really, who can resist that oh-so-pink exterior? It just looks like a giant confection.

As it was shortly before lunch on a weekday, there weren’t many cars in the parking lot, so I had to be fast and stealthy. Instead of sticking the card under a windshield wiper, as is my usual M.O., I opted for the driver’s side door.

I’m really hoping the car belongs to a bride-to-be who’s perhaps just a wee bit frazzled in the midst of her wedding planning, and finding a small token from the ninjas just might give her a brief moment to smile … and, of course, indulge in some amazing Sugar Shack cupcakes.

Who wouldn’t love that?

About Lansing Ninjas

We #lovelansing and we hope you do, too. Our mission is to spread bits of love and kindness around our city. We hope it brightens someone's day and inspires them to pay it forward. Kindness rocks!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

